September 12, 2019

Did you get a message it looks like you shared your Instagram password with a service to help you get more likes or followers?

This does NOT mean someone hacked your Instagram account, so please don’t panic and instead - read on, have a cup of tea and a lie down.

Did you get a message it looks like you shared your Instagram password with a service to help you get more likes or followers?

Did you get an Instagram in-app notification that says “It looks like you shared your password with a service to help you get more likes or followers, which goes against our Community Guidelines.  

Yep me, too and many of my clients.  I really dislike Instagram. I really do, there I said it out loud.
When I first looked at this man, I told myself: “I’m going to have a great photography from this sir!”. And so I did. I got close to him and I started taking pictures of a wall with some cool shadows, and in the mean time he spoke to me. We start talking and then I asked for permission for taking pictures of him. Here’s one of  the photos.
Photo by Daniel Páscoa / Unsplash

Change your password to continue using Instagram. If you share your new password with one of these services, you may get blocked from following, liking or commenting.” etc - you are not the lone ranger.

After recent updates to the Instagram algorithm, millions of Instagram profiles started seeing “Your Account Was Compromised” Instagram message, whether they participated in inauthentic activities or not.

This does NOT mean someone hacked your Instagram account, so please don’t panic and instead - read on, have a cup of tea and a lie down.

Instagram discourages users from sharing their login credentials with any third-party apps. Not all of these third-party apps are dependable. Sharing your account credentials with some of these apps can lead to account being Instagram is advising to change your account password if you have shared you details with any such apps.

The message will look like this:

Note: That we only use two third party apps to post to Instagram, Onlypult for desktop posting and Social Pilot for content.  These are both excellent, vetted, high quality apps that we have used for many years with no problems in the past. We do NOT, use ANY third party apps for any engagement at all.

In frustrated chatter today in many Facebook groups, social media managers were reporting issues of big name posting tools such as Hootsuite, Social Report and Sprout Social who were all experiencing the same difficulty with posting and connecting accounts.

With the help of machine learning, Instagram can now identify users who have shared their login credentials with such apps, and would offer them two options; to either change their password and therefore cut all ties with the automated service or, have their Instagram experience “impacted

How to prevent “Your Account Was Compromised”

  • If you have been using a 3rd party tool/service for spammy comments and follow/unfollow, stop it right now!
  • If you have been buying likes, stop it right now! This makes me cranky.
  • Revoke connections with your Instagram account for the time being with third party tools and connect again.
  • Change your password ASAP
  • Breathe and try again

The bottom line is that Instagram is taking steps to ensure its community remains as authentic as possible -- which is great!!

Photo by Free To Use Sounds / Unsplash

I do have a theory that there will be many thirty party posting tools banned as we will be forced to use Facebook’s Creator Studio.  

Recently launched is a new feature where a user who has a business account profile can schedule posts, stories and IGTV videos on Facebook and Instagram.

For the first time ever posts and stories can be scheduled up to 6 months in advance.

Instagram accounts connected to Facebook Pages can be managed by anyone with a role on those Pages. Learn more about what happens when you link an Instagram account to a Facebook Page.

Once someone connects to an Instagram account in Creator Studio, anyone else with a role on the Facebook Page connected to that account will automatically have access to it in Creator Studio's Instagram section. The information they can see and the actions they can take on that Instagram account depend on the role they have on the Facebook Page it is connected to.

In other Instagram news

I photographed a social media class for florists, to teach them how to use Instagram to grow their business. I brought this quote as a prop for them to use, but they were not into it, but since there were flowers and white walls around, I figured other people would be interested in it instead, so I took a picture to give it to you here.
Photo by Sandrachile . / Unsplash

TechCrunch reported - Instagram  is fighting back against automated apps

Bots that leave spammy comments or follow then unfollow others in hopes of growing their audience. In November 2018, Instagram started to remove from people’s accounts who use these apps inauthentic follows, Likes and comments that violate its policies; sending them a warning to change their password to cut ties with these apps, and saying people who continue using these apps “may see their Instagram experience impacted.” Instagram “may limit access to certain features, for example” for those users.

Instagram’s new policy explicitly bans inauthentic content.

This means that they’ll strip accounts with fake followers, likes, and comments using AI-backed moderation tools and machine learning.

Any accounts found to be using third-party apps to fudge their numbers will see fake likes and followers removed and be prompted to reset their password. Third-party apps often hold the profile owner’s credentials.

This photo was taken at the LAX protest against Trump’s muslim ban.
Photo by Kayla Velasquez / Unsplash
Wish they did it sooner, so many accounts have grown due to dodgy measures, it's so discouraging for the people who actually focus on building their brand the correct way.

Instagram has started taking a more aggressive approach to combat the fake followers and likes on Instagram.

A new article from Help.Instagram.com: Should I use apps that offer likes and followers?  Accounts have been getting notices about this in accounts.

Instagram is Now Hiding Likes from July 2019

and is now expanding the more countries, including Australia, Brazil, Ireland, Italy, Japan, and New Zealand!

This idea of 'likes' being a source of anxiety for young people fits in with a growing body of research about Instagram's effects on mental wellbeing. According to Mia Garlick, the Director of Public Policy for Facebook and Instagram in Australia and New Zealand, it's all about taking the "competition" out of posting.

Users will still be able to see the number of likes and views their own posts have received.

Instagram is hoping the change will restore focus to the images being shared, not popularity.

Always changing in the Instagram Lala land.  

Back in the old days Instagram used to work chronologically then in came a new algorithm came into play and everyone started freaking out. It is constantly changing.

Facebook Adds Instagram Scheduling to Creator Studio

If you head over to Facebook's Creator Studio app, you're likely to see a notification like this at the top of your dashboard.

Social Media Today reports - Instagram scheduling has long been a headache for social managers, leading to a range of alternative posting options, each of which has its own value and capacity. Most of these options have been limited due to Instagram's API restrictions on what third-party tools can access, and how they can post - though Instagram did provide capacity for third party providers to facilitate Insta scheduling last year.

This new option, however, provides increased capacity, in that you can better see exactly what your Insta posts will look like, which is similar to posting to a Facebook Page natively, as opposed to through a scheduling app.

The team from Later have provided an in-depth rundown of the process - first off, if you want to schedule your Instagram posts, you need to have an Instagram business account linked to your Creator Studio dashboard.